The Journey

I went off on a trip one day
Searching for my soul
No bags I packed
I simply went
Not knowing where I’d go

An ancient building drew me in
There were many books
That smelled of age and wisdom
I looked and read
But none was my soul

I entered an old court house
The stately men were dressed in black
Judgement was delivered
Guilty! they said
But I did not find my soul

An old lady was reclining
In her rose garden
She offered tea and biscuits
Sent me off with a bouquet of red roses
But not with my soul

Many days I walked
The city gave way
A forest welcomed me
The laughing brook tended my feet
But still offered no soul

On a melting warm day
The forest long gone
Just my aching feet
On a dusty broken road
I sat down and wept for my lost soul

Through eyes blurred by tears
A man appeared
An interesting old chap
His grey brow grew wildly
But his blue white eyes smiled kindly

From the mountain of God He came
Yes indeed, just at the end of this very road
His leather shoes were curled, dusty and torn
His coat equally forlorn
But under his arm he carried a bottle

I smiled then
Because I knew
In the bottle of that old traveler
There, restored
Was my soul.

I am participating in L.L. Barkat’s poetry challenge, I found my soul, this week. Have a look over at her blog for all the other great contributions around this theme as we learn to unfold our imagination.

6 thoughts on “The Journey

  1. I walked this journey through your words! It is amazing to ponder these things, is it not? I had to mull this soul journey over a few days before I could put down words.

    this moved:

    “On a melting warm day
    The forest long gone
    Just my aching feet
    On a dusty broken road
    I sat down and wept for my lost soul”

    Thank you, soul friend.

  2. Thanks for stopping by L.L.:)

    Laura, it was so interesting to ponder where I think my soul would be:) I really enjoyed the process. Thanks for reading:)

  3. Pingback: Random Acts of Poetry: FedEx Your Soul | HighCallingBlogs.com

  4. I wonder what my journey would look like.

    Many days I walked
    The city gave way
    A forest welcomed me
    The laughing brook tended my feet
    But still offered no soul

    I do tend to find myself in the peaceful places…or at least a longing for self. Not really sure what “finding myself” would look like…

    I am thankful He has restored me to Him. I’m hoping someday I’ll understand what all of that means.

  5. Michelle, I too love to find peaceful places to ‘come to myself’ again. I don’t know, I want to say that maybe we’ll never truly find ourselves this side of eternity but I have been listening and reading a lot about how God really did everything so we can have fullness in Him on earth (not talking prosperity or success, but knowing Him, and having full relationship with Him) that I am kind of torn at the moment as to why we don’t experience it. Don’t have any answers, just thinking out loud:)

Comments are closed.