I am with you

It is an incredible thing  to realise that the God of the universe promises to be with us. So often we hear the good news about God so much that it no longer takes our breath away.

Imagine in a time of fear and difficulty, a dear friend, a husband or father looking you in the eye, grasping you by the shoulder, and saying: Do not be afraid, I am with you, I will help you, I will hold your hand.

Imagine what peace it would bring, how the clutches of fear would lose its stranglehold on your neck, how you’d be able to breathe again- knowing that you are not alone, someone is there with you. Someone greater and stronger, someone who cares, someone to bear the burden, someone to make things right.

If human strength can offer such support and hope, how much more the strength of our Father in heaven. Our Maker. The Creator of the universe, He who holds stars in is His hand, who stretches out the heavens like curtains!!

Why would we not trust Him? He who said ‘I want you to build a tabernacle so I can meet with you.’ The one who said: ‘I want you to know me… I want to be known by you.’ Who sent His Son, who came down from Glory, to die. On a cross. So that we may know Him.

Why would we not trust Him who laid down His life for love?

The only one who is intimately acquainted with every part of our being…

The Lord looks from heaven, He beholds all the sons of men;

From His dwelling place He looks [intently] upon all the inhabitants of the earth–

He Who fashions the hearts of them all, Who considers all their doings. Psalm 33:13-15

He promises to be with us.

Fear not [there is nothing to fear], for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen and harden you to difficulties, yes, I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with My [victorious] right hand of rightness and justice. Isa 41:10

For I the Lord your God hold your right hand; I am the Lord, Who says to you, Fear not; I will help you! Isa 41:13

Fear not, for I have redeemed you [ransomed you by paying a price instead of leaving you captives]; I have called you by your name; you are Mine.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you, and through the rivers, they will not overwhelm you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned or scorched, nor will the flame kindle upon you. Isa 43:1-2

Have not I commanded you? Be strong, vigorous, and very courageous. Be not afraid, neither be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. Josh 1:9

For He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!] Hebrews 13:5

Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion on you. Isa 54:10