Thirsting for life

To be content in all circumstances God has been speaking to me through this quote of C.S Lewis that if I find in myself desires nothing in this world can satisfy, I can only conclude that I was not made for here.

We were made for God. And whatever we think we need in this life, whatever we think will satisfy- it will not. We were made for Him, and only He can satisfy.

So I realise that even if in an instant I am given everything I think my heart desires- but I lose God- I have nothing, I am the poorest of all, if I have not my God and all His Glory.

The very essence of sin/evil is being offered the Fountain of Life, but turning away and scratching at the earth and eating the dirt, in the hope of finding something better, and more satisfying than God himself. ~John Piper, Rezolution 2010

Blessed are you who hunger now, for you will be satisfied. Blessed are you who weep now, for you will laugh. Luke 6:21

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4:13-14